.

Broken Utility Pole Is Still A Threat on Merrick Avenue

I must apologize for typographical errors in my previous posts about this problem.

Regarding the broken utility pole at 125 Merrick Avenue, the following e-mail exchanges have been made.

From: John Dunn [mailto:jdunn4@optonline.net]
Sent: Friday, January 04, 2013 9:00 PM
To: 'angicul@tohmail.org'
Cc: 'David Denenberg'; 'Michael Ganci'; 'Paul Laursen'; 'Supervisor Kate Murray'
Subject: RE: Broken Telephone Pole on Merrick Avenue Ms, Cullin -

One point to bear in mind is that I too have spoken with Verizon and with LIPA, but to no avail. In my view, there has been abdication of responsibility by both of them.
Seeking support from government quarters has been a similar experience. Meanwhile, that pole is inching its way forward to collapse. How will the utilities react, how will government officials react, how will YOU react, if that pole comes down tomorrow morning and happens to kill somebody?? You use the phrase “taking so long”.This has been going on since last June, seven months ago. The time for patient waiting is clearly at an end. John Dunn 516-378-2149

From: angicul@tohmail.org [mailto:angicul@tohmail.org]
Sent: Friday, January 04, 2013 9:29 AM
To: ambertec@ieee.org
Subject: RE: Broken Telephone Pole on Merrick Avenue Mr. Dunn, the Helpline has been calling Verizon and LIPA every single day to get them to fix this pole. I understand your concern and we are doing everything we can to get the proper companies to take care of this situation. I will contact you with any updates I get from them. Due to the fact that the pole does not belong to the Town, we cannot fix it ourselves. I am sorry this is taking so long, we will keep on trying.

>>> <ambertec@ieee.org> 1/3/2013 8:33 PM >>> Good morning, Ms. Cullin. The urgency of this situation cannotbe overstated! What have you been able to accomplish? John Dunn 516-378-2149 From: John Dunn [mailto:jdunn4@optonline.net]
Sent: Wednesday, January 02, 2013 10:31 AM
To: 'Angie Cullin'

Subject: RE: Broken Telephone Pole on Merrick Avenue Thank you, Ms. Cullin. I am extremely concerned. I took a walk past that pole this morning and it has continued to deteriorate. Please see the attached file. As before, I await your earliest possible reply. John Dunn 516-378-2149 From: Angie Cullin [mailto:acullin@tohmail.org]

Sent: Wednesday, January 02, 2013 9:46 AM
To: ambertec@ieee.org

Subject: RE: Broken Telephone Pole on Merrick Avenue Hi Mr. Dunn, I am checking with the Supervisors office, who is handling this case, to try to get an update for you. As soon as I have any information I will contact you.

>>> <ambertec@ieee.org> 1/2/2013 8:08 AM >>> Good day, Ms. Cullin. Again, I would like to ask what success you had with regard to that broken utility pole in front of 125 Merrick Avenue, Merrick, NY 11566. I await your earliest possible reply. John Dunn 516-378-2149 From: John Dunn [mailto:jdunn4@optonline.net]
Sent: Friday, December 28, 2012 7:44 PM
To: 'Angie Cullin'
Cc: David Denenberg (ddenenberg@nassaucountyny.gov); Michael Ganci (Michael.Ganci@patch.com); Paul Laursen (lmedit@optimum.net); Supervisor Kate Murray (tohsup@tohmail.org)

Subject: RE: Broken Telephone Pole on Merrick Avenue Good day, Ms. Cullin. I would like to ask what success you had with regard to that broken utility pole in front of 125 Merrick Avenue, Merrick, NY 11566. I have had no success at all in having contacted Verizon, LIPA, the Public Service Commission and various local officials. It has been months since I first brought this to official attention and the pole continues to evidence structural decay. Please refer to: http://merrick.patch.com/groups/opinion/p/dangerous-broken-pole-continued# Thank you. John Dunn 516-378-2149 From: Angie Cullin [mailto:acullin@tohmail.org]
Sent: Monday, December 17, 2012 10:38 AM
To: ambertec@ieee.org

Subject: RE: Broken Telephone Pole on Merrick Avenue Hi Mr. Dunn, I have been in touch with the Supervisor's office and they are handling this case. Happy holidays! Angie

>>> <ambertec@ieee.org> 12/14/2012 7:02 PM >>> Please see the attached file. Thank you. John Dunn 181 Marion Avenue Merrick, NY 11566 516-378-2149 From: John Dunn [mailto:jdunn4@optonline.net]
Sent: Wednesday, October 24, 2012 2:07 PM
To: Supervisor Kate Murray (tohsup@tohmail.org)
Cc: David Denenberg (ddenenberg@nassaucountyny.gov); Michael Ganci (Michael.Ganci@patch.com); Councilwoman Angie Cullin (acullin@tohmail.org); Paul Laursen (lmedit@optimum.net)

Subject: Broken Telephone Pole on Merrick Avenue Good morning, Ms. Murray. I have this morning filed a complaint with the Public Service Commission. My complaint is both with Verizon and The Town of Hempstead, each for gross irresponsibility regarding a public safety issue. Please see the attached. I ask that you please act to have this situation remedied as soon as possible. Thank you. John Dunn 181 Marion Avenue Merrick, NY 11566 516-378-2149
Debbie January 09, 2013 at 12:17 PM
Why is it that we need something to happen first before we react what gives here this pole is going to kill people if not replaced , enough said here. do something Ms. Cullin/ Mr. Deneberg this is unacceptable when you out in full force looking for our votes we were there to re-elect you where are you now????
Jane Weisbrot January 09, 2013 at 01:56 PM
Debbie, You can't say anything bad about Dave Denenberg. He is out there all the time working on getting things done.
Debbie January 09, 2013 at 03:04 PM
Jane, So true Dave is a friend but let's face it this is serious and he or Angie need to step up here
John January 10, 2013 at 05:39 PM
Dear All, Getting elected and taxing are the two things that interests our local government....aside from that there is nothing else. So if you loose your mother....wife...child...daughter....husband or your loved ones.....Angie or anybody else that occupies space in that county office...don't care. Johnnybgood Merrick resident(23yrs)

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something