.

Boken Utility Pole Is Sill A Threat

Regarding the broken utility pole at 125 Merrick Avenue, the following e-mail exchanges have been made.

From: John Dunn [mailto:jdunn4@optonline.net]
Sent: Friday, January 04, 2013 9:00 PM
To: 'angicul@tohmail.org'
Cc: 'David Denenberg'; 'Michael Ganci'; 'Paul Laursen'; 'Supervisor Kate Murray'
Subject: RE: Broken Telephone Pole on Merrick Avenue   Ms, Cullin  -  

One point to bear in mind  is that I too have spoken with Verizon and with LIPA, but to no avail. In my view, there has been abdication of responsibility by both of them.  
Seeking support from government quarters has been a similar experience. Meanwhile, that pole is inching its way forward to collapse.   How will the utilities react, how will government officials react, how will YOU react, if that pole comes down tomorrow morning and happens to kill somebody??   You use the phrase “taking so long”. This has been going on since last June, seven months ago. The time for patient waiting is clearly at an end.   John Dunn 516-378-2149  

From: angicul@tohmail.org [mailto:angicul@tohmail.org]
Sent: Friday, January 04, 2013 9:29 AM
To: ambertec@ieee.org
Subject: RE: Broken Telephone Pole on Merrick Avenue   Mr. Dunn, the Helpline has been calling Verizon and LIPA every single day to get them to fix this pole.  I understand your concern and we are doing everything we can to get the proper companies to take care of this situation.  I will contact you with any updates I get from them.  Due to the fact that the pole does not belong to the Town, we cannot fix it ourselves.  I am sorry this is taking so long, we will keep on trying.

>>> <ambertec@ieee.org> 1/3/2013 8:33 PM >>> Good morning, Ms. Cullin.   The urgency of this situation cannot be overstated! What have you been able to accomplish?   John Dunn 516-378-2149       From: John Dunn [mailto:jdunn4@optonline.net]
Sent: Wednesday, January 02, 2013 10:31 AM
To: 'Angie Cullin'

Subject: RE: Broken Telephone Pole on Merrick Avenue   Thank you, Ms. Cullin.   I am extremely concerned. I took a walk past that pole this morning and it has continued to deteriorate. Please see the attached file.   As before, I await your earliest possible reply.   John Dunn 516-378-2149   From: Angie Cullin [mailto:acullin@tohmail.org]

Sent: Wednesday, January 02, 2013 9:46 AM
To: ambertec@ieee.org

Subject: RE: Broken Telephone Pole on Merrick Avenue   Hi Mr. Dunn, I am checking with the Supervisors office, who is handling this case, to try to get an update for you. As soon as I have any information I will contact you. 

>>> <ambertec@ieee.org> 1/2/2013 8:08 AM >>> Good day, Ms. Cullin.   Again, I would like to ask what success you had with regard to that broken utility pole in front of 125 Merrick Avenue, Merrick, NY 11566.   I await your earliest possible reply.   John Dunn 516-378-2149   From: John Dunn [mailto:jdunn4@optonline.net]
Sent: Friday, December 28, 2012 7:44 PM
To: 'Angie Cullin'
Cc: David Denenberg (ddenenberg@nassaucountyny.gov); Michael Ganci (Michael.Ganci@patch.com); Paul Laursen (lmedit@optimum.net); Supervisor Kate Murray (tohsup@tohmail.org)

Subject: RE: Broken Telephone Pole on Merrick Avenue   Good day, Ms. Cullin.   I would like to ask what success you had with regard to that broken utility pole in front of 125 Merrick Avenue, Merrick, NY 11566.   I have had no success at all in having contacted Verizon, LIPA, the Public Service Commission and various local officials.   It has been months since I first brought this to official attention and the pole continues to evidence structural decay.   Please refer to:  http://merrick.patch.com/groups/opinion/p/dangerous-broken-pole-continued#   Thank you.   John Dunn 516-378-2149   From: Angie Cullin [mailto:acullin@tohmail.org]
Sent: Monday, December 17, 2012 10:38 AM
To: ambertec@ieee.org

Subject: RE: Broken Telephone Pole on Merrick Avenue   Hi Mr. Dunn, I have been in touch with the Supervisor's office and they are handling this case.  Happy holidays!   Angie

>>> <ambertec@ieee.org> 12/14/2012 7:02 PM >>> Please see the attached file.   Thank you.   John Dunn 181 Marion Avenue Merrick, NY 11566 516-378-2149   From: John Dunn [mailto:jdunn4@optonline.net]
Sent: Wednesday, October 24, 2012 2:07 PM
To: Supervisor Kate Murray (tohsup@tohmail.org)
Cc: David Denenberg (ddenenberg@nassaucountyny.gov); Michael Ganci (Michael.Ganci@patch.com); Councilwoman Angie Cullin (acullin@tohmail.org); Paul Laursen (lmedit@optimum.net)

Subject: Broken Telephone Pole on Merrick Avenue   Good morning, Ms. Murray. I have this morning filed a complaint with the Public Service Commission.   My complaint is both with Verizon and The Town of Hempstead, each for gross irresponsibility regarding a public safety issue.   Please see the attached.   I ask that you please act to have this situation remedied as soon as possible.   Thank you.   John Dunn 181 Marion Avenue Merrick, NY 11566   516-378-2149
Zach T January 06, 2013 at 03:44 AM
This pole WAS NEVER a threat, and even the day it finally falls, NEVER WILL BE
John Dunn January 06, 2013 at 11:19 PM
Zach, you are totally, completely, utterly wrong. That pole is a threat to human life. It is horrifying that you can be so callous about a thing like that or to the grisly death that one motorist suffered under a collapsed pole on Woodbury Road. See http://merrick.patch.com/groups/opinion/p/dangerous-broken-pole-continued This town can be thankful that YOU are not vested with decision making authority.
John Dunn January 06, 2013 at 11:24 PM
Zach, you are totally wrong. That pole is a clear and present threat to human life. It is astonishing that you can be so callous about that and also to the trgic death that befell a motorist under a different pole that fell on Woodbury Road. See: http://merrick.patch.com/groups/opinion/p/dangerous-broken-pole-continued This town can consider itself lucky that decision making authority is not vested in YOU.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »